India Growing


Uttarakhand is the northern Indian state in Himalayas. Its carved out from Uttar Pradesh in 2000 with an area of 53,483 sq km. 'Uttara' means north and 'khand' means region in Sanskrit. The population in 2011 census is 10 million, as on 2019 population it raised to 11 million. The other name of the state is 'Uttaranchal', Dehradun is the capital city of Uttarakhand and Hindi is the most widely spoken language.

Uttarakhand Population 2024

As per the Aadhar Statistics the Uttarakhand population in 2024 is 11,090,425 (11.09 Millions) as compared to last census 2011 is 10,086,292. Growth rate of 9.96 percent of population increased from year 2011 in Uttarakhand. till 2018.
Population in Crores is 1.11 Crores
(February 2019 estimates till December 2018 as per Aadhar Uidai)

Population10086292 (2011 Census)

Uttarakhand formerly Uttaranchal, is a state in the northern part of India and its established in 9 November 2000. Dehradun is the Capital of Uttarakhand in india, and its largest city in the state. Uttaranchal has 13 districts. its population is 1,01,16,752 and density is 189/ Uttarakhand literacy rate is 79.63%, and Languages spoken are Garhwali, Kumaoni, Hindi and Urdu.

Uttarakhand has long been called as the "Land of the gods" due to the holiest Hindu shrines, and for more than 7000 years pilgrims has been visiting the region. The Pilgrim places in Uttarakhand are Adi Badri, Adi Kailash, Almora, Augustmuni, Badrinath, Baijnath, Devprayag, Dwarahat, Gangnani, Gangolihat, Gangotri, Gaurikund, Ghangaria, Guptkashi, Hanuman Chatti, Haridwar, Hemkund Sahib, Jageshwar, Janki Chatti, Joshimath, Kalpeshwar, Karnaprayag, Kedarnath, Madmaheshwar, Nanakmatta, Patal Bhuvaneshwar, Rishikesh, Rudranath, Rudraprayag, Tungnath, Ukhimath, Yamunotri

Pilgrim places of uttarkhand Two of the most important rivers in Hinduism originate in the region, the Ganga at Gangotri and the Yamuna at Yamunotri. These two along with Badrinath and Kedarnath form the Chota Char Dham, a holy pilgrimage for the Hindus. Uttarakhand derived from sanskrit, uttara means northern part and khand means part of country. Uttarkhand Floods in June 2013

 DistrictCapitalArea ( in 1991Population in 2001Population in 2011
04Tehri GarhwalNew Tehri4,080580,153604,747616,409
12Udham Singh NagarRudrapur2,908914,8611,235,6141,648,367
Note: in 1991 Uttaranchal was still part of Uttar Pradesh, it became a separate entity on Nov. 8, 2000. Since then it has been renamed to Uttarakhand.

uttarakhand map

uttarakhand map

List of Districts, Cities & Towns in Uttarakhand

Home | Privacy Policy | Contact